If God showed me all my sins, He being holy God and I being frail wicked man that I am, I would buckle under the weight of that truth, under the burden of my guilt, and under the shame of my absurd love for sin. This is why God is just in punishing the sins of men, even my sin. He, alone, IS the holy Judge!

My sins are more numerous than I think or can count. But, God can count each one and pass judgment on each wicked thought, even my own, without making a mistake. God, however, being infinitely merciful is blessed beyond limit and, in Jesus Christ, grants His uncountable blessings of unending mercy to all who believe, even I.

You see, God is merciful AND just. He will not let sin, even my sin, go unpunished. So, He, the source of mercy, has provided a way for the sinner, even I, to be made free from sin. That was accomplished by the giving of His only Son, Jesus, on the cross, to die for sinners – such as I.

Jesus took the guilt, the suffering, the shame, the penalty and the embodiment of man’s sin, even my own wicked sin, on Himself on the cross, and, being nailed thereon He ensured the curse of sin was abolished, meanwhile holding out eternal life in exchange for the sins of all His people, myself included!

Now my blessings are uncountable, numerous and vast beyond measure. Jesus Christ is the surety for my life; He is my eternal life. He tasted death so that even I may not be engulfed in death’s eternal embrace. He conquered sin, my former master and set me free from it, that I may run to Him. He delivered me from Satan and his siren song that enchanted and imprisoned my soul and body to this temporal world. I am now Christ’s own, His possession, even I, His very own body!

Yes, if God showed me all His blessings, which He grants even to me, He being gracious and merciful God and I being the undeserving man that I am, I would buckle under the cost of the Ransom paid for sin, even my sin, and under the shame of my love for sin still, for, sadly, I still sin. But, what manner and number of blessings have been laid out for me in Christ! This is why I must worship the Triune God and thank Him forever. O, the Lord, even my God and Father; He, alone, is good!

My Prayer:
Dear Father, show me my sin more and more, that I may see myself as I am, even though to a small degree, yet do not leave me to despair till death, but show me Your Son, Jesus Christ, even more and more, that I may see Your love and Your salvation, which is my cure, for Christ is the only basis for a life that is never ruined to eternity! Amen.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts On God and My Sin

    1. It’s amazing love..how the holy, holy, holy one could offer to not only pay for my sin, but carry the filth of it, all of it on Himself – wash me through His blood and call me righteous. It’s surely beyond comprehension. Thanks bro

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.